HomeSacred Sites › Miaoli Yuqing Temple

Miaoli Yuqing Temple苗栗玉清宫

Type
Temples and Abbeys (Gongguan)
Location
Taiwan, China · Taiwan · Miaoli City, Miaoli County · No. 35, Weimin Street, Yuqing Village
Coordinates
24.5649, 120.8265 Map
School
Daoism in Taiwan
First built
1906 (Meiji 39) · Founded by Hu Atong; originally named 'Guanyin Gong,' later renamed 'Yuqing Gong Qianhua Tang'; the temple building was completed in the winter of 1917

Overview

The Miaoli Yuqing Temple principally enshrines the Three Benefactor Lords (Guandi, Fuyou Dijun, and Siming Zhenjun), and belongs to the luantang tradition. It was founded in 1906 by Hu Atong, originally named Guanyin Gong, and later renamed 'Yuqing Gong Qianhua Tang' — 'Qianyuan' and 'Qianhua' being names commonly used for luantang, directly reflecting its nature as a hall for moral exhortation through spirit-writing. The temple building was completed in the winter of 1917. It was damaged in the 1935 Duncheng-jiao earthquake, and was rebuilt beginning in 1964 at the initiative of provincial assemblyman Tang Qingsong and others, completed in 1967, with a foundation established in July 1971. On December 12, 1987, the 'Yuqing Park' opened, costing more than 30 million (NT) dollars and covering more than 4,000 ping, with a statue of Guangong 7.6 zhang tall erected within it, becoming one of the landmarks of Miaoli. The temple today is a three-story building: the first floor enshrines the Three Benefactor Lords, the second floor enshrines Wenchang Dijun and the Martial God of Wealth, and the third floor enshrines the Jade Emperor. In terms of the nature of its congregation, it belongs to the Rujiao Shenjiao luantang / Enzhugong cult, not a Daoist school in the strict sense. The temple building is not registered as a cultural heritage item.

Highlights

  • The Three Benefactor Lords and the luantang tradition
  • Yuqing Park and the 7.6-zhang statue of Guangong
  • The three-story temple layout

Related figures

Lü Dongbin